Classical music
Chamber & Recital

OAE: Mozart: Master of Deception, with Rachel Podger

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

The Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment and Rachel Podger show how Mozart was the ultimate musical genius - and the ultimate game player.

There is so much more to Mozart than meets the eye. His repertoire is full of surprises and deceptions. He tore up the rulebook, and if you hear his music twice, you never have quite the same experience.

Join the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment for the first of two concerts exploring the hidden secrets of Mozart’s familiar scores, led by the Orchestra’s longstanding collaborator, violinist Rachel Podger. She plays two of Mozart’s great violin concertos, which are both unique in their own ways.

Also enjoy an exhilarating but rarely performed symphony by Johann Christian Bach. The son of Johann Sebastian Bach, JC Bach was a celebrity in London in the 1770s. This Symphony in G minor is his dramatic, standout work, full of twists and turns and dark passions.


Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment
Rachel Podger director, violin


Haydn: Symphony No.26 (Lamentatione)
Mozart: Violin Concerto No.1 in B flat, K.207
Johann Christian Bach: Symphony in G minor, Op.6 No.6
Mozart: Violin Concerto No.5 in A, K.219

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Partner venues
St John's Smith Square,

Smith Square, London SW1P 3HA


£10 - £60
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£10, £25, £40, £60


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Performance time
Please note start time of 7pm.

Book multiple Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

2 – 3 events (15% discount)
4 – 7 events (20% discount)
8 or more events (25% discount)

Children and student £5 tickets are available for every concert. These discounts, and the £5 tickets, are not available on Premium seats.