Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Bach and the Cosmos: Bach Remixed

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Hear Bach’s music reimagined by contemporary composers and explore the great composer's incredible use of maths and numbers – the language of the cosmos – as City of London Sinfonia present Bach Remixed.

City of London Sinfonia’s Bach and the Cosmos series is guest-directed by Roderick Williams, with leading Oxford mathematician James Sparks.

Bach Remixed features music by Bach reimagined by contemporary composers, including guest director Roderick Williams, and the architectural reworking of Bach by Nystedt, with a visual explanation of the mathematical relationships contained within.

Making full use of the venue and the spatial effects contained in composers’ reimaginings, the audience is surrounded by the performers at points throughout the performance.


City of London Sinfonia
Roderick Williams director, baritone
Alexandra Wood director, violin
Daniel Bates oboe
Epiphoni Consort
James Sparks mathematician


JS Bach: Komm, süsser Tod, BWV.478
Nystedt: Immortal Bach (on Bach's Komm, süsser Tod, BWV.478)
JS Bach: Ricercare a 3; Ricercar a 6; Excerpts from A Musical Offering; Brandenburg Concerto No.3
JS Bach: Motet, Singet dem Herrn, BWV.225
Roderick Williams: Enough for oboe
JS Bach: Cantata No.82 `Ich habe genug'

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£10 - £30
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£10, £20, £30


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy