Classical music

Bringuier: Rachmaninov

Part of Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Opening the series with a concerto described as a ‘pithy Shakespearean role’ by celebrated violinist David Oistrakh, Valeriy Sokolov performs one of the most compelling violin concertos in the repertoire.

No Russian composer has experienced the oppressive hand of the Soviet state more than Dmitri Shostakovich, and whilst Stalin silenced many artists, it was only after Stalin’s death that Shostakovich dared to publish his Violin Concerto No.1.

The emotional intensity swells after the interval as Lionel Bringuier conducts one of the most abundantly lyrical and superbly-crafted masterpieces, Rachmaninov’s Second Symphony.


Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Lionel Bringuier conductor
Valeriy Sokolov violin


Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No.1
Rachmaninov: Symphony No.2

Dates & times

30 Oct 2018
Approximate run time: 125 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £50
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £20, £30, £40, £50


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know


Book multiple Royal Philharmonic Orchestra events in the same transaction and receive a discount.

2 – 3 events (15% discount)
4 or more events (25% discount)

This discount only applies to multiple concerts bought in the same series, not across two or more series.