Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Piazzolla & Prokofiev

Part of Classical Season 2017/18

In a programme spanning two continents, classical influences inspire works by two giants of music.

Prokofiev, remarked in his biography that once, after hearing an ‘unsuccessful’ piece for two violins, ‘it struck me that in spite of the apparent limitations of such a duet one could make it interesting enough to listen to for ten or fifteen minutes’. Built from a Baroque form popularised by Corelli, his response unites virtuosic violin writing with moments of exquisite sweetness.

Rhythmically charged and inventive, Piazzolla composed the movements of his Four Seasons of Buenos Aires between 1965 and 1970. They epitomise his distinct style: a fusion of his beloved traditional tango with classical techniques learned studying in Paris with Nadia Boulanger. But alongside the fiery dances lies surprising tenderness – Winter recedes with a gentle melody fading to silence.

In the evening programme at 7.30pm, the Philharmonia performs works from a century earlier in a programme of Beethoven, Tchaikovsky and Brahms.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series


Philharmonia Chamber Players
Zsolt-Tihamér Visontay violin
Fabrizio Falasca violin
Adrián Varela violin
Jan Regulski violin
Gijs Kramers viola
Ella Rundle cello
Julian Rowlands
Gareth Sheppard


Prokofiev: Sonata in C for 2 violins, Op.56
Astor Piazzolla: Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The 4 Seasons of Buenos Aires)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall