Art
Exhibition

Master of Sitar: Ravi Shankar at Southbank Centre

Part of Alchemy

Discover the performance world of sitar master Ravi Shankar and his long history with Southbank Centre at this free exhibition.

Shankar's association with Southbank Centre goes back nearly 60 years. From his first performance in Royal Festival Hall in 1958, Shankar established a lifelong relationship with the venue, including several performances and significant premieres over the years.

Showcasing rarities from Shankar’s Royal Festival Hall concerts alongside other objects linked to sitar music, this collection pays tribute to a rich history of performances.

As part of this continuum, we are proud that Alchemy’s opening night features the London premiere of Shankar’s last composition, the opera Sukanya.

In the lead-up to Shankar’s 100-year anniversary celebration in 2020, we are also asking visitors to showcase their own memories and mementos linked to Ravi Shankar’s music.

Dates & times

18 May 2017 - 18 Jun 2017
Approximate run time: 780 mins
><
  • May 2017

    • Thu 18 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 19 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 20 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 21 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 22 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 23 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 24 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 25 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 26 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 27 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 28 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 29 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 30 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 31 May 2017
      • 10:00 am
  • June 2017

    • Thu 1 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 2 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 3 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 4 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 5 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 6 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 7 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 8 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 9 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 10 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 11 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 12 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 13 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 14 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 15 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 16 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 17 June 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 18 June 2017
      • 10:00 am

where

Archive Studio, Level 2, Blue side, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free

before & after

Cooked Oysters in their shells
The BBQ Club comes to Southbank Centre – and it’s set to be a sizzler
Customers at the Southbank Centre Shops
Discover homely lifestyle products from our shop in Royal Festival Hall