Children & Young people
Talks & Topics
Workshops & Activities

Gamelan & Poetry Workshops - Lambeth Schools Offer 2017/2018

Part of Gamelan

Lambeth primary schools are invited to book free gamelan and poetry workshop sessions.

For the first hour, half your class works with one of our expert tutors to sample group music-making on our beautiful gamelan – a percussion orchestra from Java.

Meanwhile, the other half explores The National Poetry Library's collection, working with library staff to enjoy the UK's largest collection of contemporary poetry books and recordings. The groups swap over for the second half of the two-hour session.

In 1987, Southbank Centre was privileged to receive a beautiful Javanese percussion orchestra called gamelan. This was a remarkable gift from the Government of the Republic of Indonesia to the people of the UK as a gesture of friendship.

As is the case with many important gamelan ensembles, ours was named ‘Kyai Lebdha Jiwa' or 'The Venerable Spirit of Perfection'.

Dates & times

27 Feb 2018 - 17 Jul 2018
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
><
  • February 2018

    • Tue 27 February 2018
      • 10:30 am
  • March 2018

    • Tue 6 March 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 13 March 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 20 March 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 27 March 2018
      • 10:30 am
  • April 2018

    • Tue 24 April 2018
      • 10:30 am
  • May 2018

    • Tue 1 May 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 8 May 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 15 May 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 22 May 2018
      • 10:30 am
  • June 2018

    • Tue 5 June 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 12 June 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 19 June 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 26 June 2018
      • 10:30 am
  • July 2018

    • Tue 3 July 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 10 July 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Tue 17 July 2018
      • 10:30 am

where

Royal Festival Hall
Gamelan Room, Level 1, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free, but ticketed

need to know

Age recommendation
Primary school students, Years 3 – 6

Dates & times
Tuesdays in term time, 10.30am – 12.30pm

Ticketing
These workshops are not available to book online. To book, call Southbank Centre's group booking line on 020 7960 4225 (9.30am – 5.30pm, Mon – Fri) with your preferred date and class details, and quote 'Lambeth Schools Gamelan Offer'.

Schools are limited to one workshop booking per term.