Classical music
Contemporary Classical


Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Follow the fascinating links between musical composition and literature – and how each can inspire the other.

Mark Bowden’s new saxophone concerto is inspired by Yuval Noah Harari’s extraordinary history of humankind, Sapiens.

The concert also features the London premiere of Colin Matthews’ new setting of poems by Ivan Blatný, a Czech poet who was exiled to England in 1948.

Find food for thought in this varied evening of music and discussion.


London Sinfonietta
Simon Haram saxophone


Programme includes: -
Mark Bowden: Sapiens (Concerto for saxophone & ensemble) (World premiere)
Colin Matthews: As time returns (settings of poetry by Ivan Blatny) (World premiere)

Dates & times

7 Dec 2018 - 7 Dec 2018
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
  • December 2018


Purcell Room


Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)


25% (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy