Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Wars of the Three Kingdoms

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Pioneering interpreters of early music Jordi Savall and his Hesperion XXI bring to life the melodies of the 16th and 17th centuries.

Jordi Savall’s appearance in the 2016/17 International Chamber Music Series with his ensemble Le Concert Des Nations received 5-star reviews, with Bachtrack commenting that ‘this intimate chamber concert... was two hours of sheer joy’.

This evening, the award-winning Hesperion XXI ensemble presents British Renaissance and Baroque music with historical sensitivity and creative relish.

The concert takes us on a journey through the years from Anthony Holborne, who wrote music for the great literary and political figures of the Elizabethan Court, to 17th-century composer Matthew Locke, who helped write the first English opera.

Along the way, encounter trailblazing virtuoso William Brade, who wrote the earliest music for the solo violin, and Alfonso Ferrabosco the younger, music tutor to the Stuart Prince Henry, who collaborated with the writer Ben Jonson on court masques.

Hear the music that made Renaissance virginalist Orlando Gibbons one of the leading composers of his day (and the favourite of 20th-century pianist Glenn Gould) and the unusual compositions of William Lawes, composer at the court of Charles I, which were left unheard in the centuries after his death in the Civil War in 1645.

Lawes’ friend John Jenkins was less experimental, but his long career was characterised by exquisite craftsmanship and lyricism.

This intimate chamber concert... was two hours of sheer joy


Hespèrion XXI
Jordi Savall director


Alfonso (the son) Ferrabosco: Dovehouse Pavan a 5
Anthony Holborne: The Teares of the Muses a 5
William Brade: Mohrfields a 5; Scottish dance
Orlando Gibbons: Fantasia a 3, No.6; In Nomine a 4
Matthew Locke: Suite No.5 in G minor from A Concert in Fower Parts
William Lawes: Concert Suite `for the violls' a 5, No.5 in C
William Lawes: Concert Suite `for the violls' a 5, No.3 in C minor
John Jenkins: Pavan a 5, No.2 in G minor; Air a 4 in D (The Newark Siege); In Nomine a 6, No.1 in G minor
Matthew Locke: Suite No.2 in D minor/major from A Concert in Fower Parts

Dates & times

25 Sep 2018
Approximate run time: 150 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£15 - £45
Booking fee: £2.50 (Members £0.00)

Multi-buy discount

£15, £25, £35, £45

Multi-buy discount
Book multiple International Chamber Music Series events in the same transaction and receive a discount: 3 – 4 events (10% discount); 5 or more events (20% discount). Events must be in the 2018/19 season. This discount is not available on Premium seats.


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Book 3 to 4 events in the International Chamber Music Series and save 10% on tickets, or book 5 or more events and save 20%. This discount is not available on Premium seats and only applies to multiple concerts bought in the same series, not across two or more series.

Discounted student tickets are available from Student Pulse in the month before this concert. Some of these seats are on the stage.

Download the Student Pulse app or register online