Classical music

Royal College of Music: Musica Ricercata

Part of Classical music

A fragment of Ligeti’s Musica Ricercata, was featured in Stanley Kubrick’s 1999 film Eyes Wide Shut. Here it concludes an all Ligeti programme presented by Royal College of Music musicians.

Based on the Baroque form of the ricercar, the set of eleven pieces for piano are linked by a gradual reveal of pitches and a satisfying structural progression.


Royal College of Music


Ligeti: Sonata for solo cello; Ballad and Dance for 2 violins; Continuum for harpsichord; Passacaglia ungherese for harpsichord; Musica ricercata for piano

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Purcell Room


Free, but ticketed