Art
Literature
Art on site

Mother Tongues

Part of London Literature Festival

Watch an innovative poetry, translation and film project that captures acclaimed poets of colour alongside the cultures, languages and women who’ve nurtured them.

In this film, four poets are filmed in intimate conversations with their mothers after asking them to translate their work into their mother’s native language. They then recite a version of the poem.

The featured poets are Belinda Zhawi, Theresa Lola, Victoria Adukwei Bulley and Tania Nwachukwu, with translations into Shona, Yoruba, Ga and Igbo respectively.

Mother Tongues was created and directed by Victoria Adukwei Bulley in partnership with Autograph ABP, and supported generously by Arts Council England.

Victoria Adukwei Bulley is a British-born Ghanaian poet, writer and filmmaker. A Barbican Young Poets alumna, her work has been commissioned by the Royal Academy of Arts in addition to featuring on BBC Radio 4’s Woman’s Hour. She was shortlisted for the Brunel University African Poetry Prize 2016, and is a Complete Works Poetry fellow. Victoria’s debut pamphlet, Girl B, edited by Kwame Dawes, forms part of the 2017 New Generation African Poets series. Mother Tongues is her filmmaking debut.

Dates & times

18 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
Approximate run time: 780 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
  • October 2017

    • Wed 18 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 19 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 20 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 21 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 22 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 23 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 24 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 25 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 26 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 27 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 28 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 29 October 2017
      • 10:00 am

where

Royal Festival Hall
Blue side foyers, Level 4, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free