Art
Art on site
Exhibition

Anders Sunna: Area Infected

Part of London Literature Festival

Get an insight into rapidly changing Sami communities with art created by Anders Sunna that gives an unflinching account of the lengthy conflict between his family and the authorities.

The Sami, the Nordic countries’ indigenous people, have been fighting for the restoration of their land rights over several decades. Area Infected depicts the forcible removal of Sunna’s family and their reindeer.

Sunna channels his feelings of anger, injustice and frustration through his painting and his other works. To him, his powerful imagery serves as inspiration for the next generation to continue highlighting this bleak reality, in order to incite change to current legislation.

Anders Sunna comes from Kieksiäisvaara, in the far north of Sweden, and lives and works in Jokkmokk, Sweden.

Part of Nordic Matters

Dates & times

18 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
Approximate run time: 780 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
  • October 2017

    • Wed 18 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 19 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 20 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 21 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 22 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 23 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 24 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 25 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 26 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 27 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 28 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 29 October 2017
      • 10:00 am

where

Royal Festival Hall
Blue Display Space 2 - Level 2

Pricing

Free