Art
Art on site

Indigenous Rap

Part of London Literature Festival

Watch as musicians from the Americas to Norway to Australia embrace rap to revitalise their indigenous languages in this video installation.

Feelings of frustration, loss, empowerment and resilience find a new energy in the poetry and stories performed rhythmically over music. In this video work, indigenous rappers open a window into the pressing issues their communities are facing, including Slincraze, Tall Paul and Baker Boy.

With no more than 20,000 people who speak Northern Sami, Slincraze uses his dialect to address the people who call him a troll and his exclusion from mainstream society in Stállu. In Prayers In A Song, Minneapolis-based artist Tall Paul raps about gaining a deeper understanding of his Native identity and struggling to learn his indigenous language Anishinaabemowin, one of the oldest and most historically important Native American languages.

Baker Boy from Milingimbi community in Arnhem Land in Northern Territory, Australia, raps in Yolngu Matha. He uses his music to help young people navigate their way through both traditional and Western worlds.

Part of Nordic Matters

Dates & times

18 Oct 2017 - 29 Oct 2017
Approximate run time: 780 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
  • October 2017

    • Wed 18 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 19 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 20 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 21 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 22 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Mon 23 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Tue 24 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Wed 25 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Thu 26 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Fri 27 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sat 28 October 2017
      • 10:00 am
    • Sun 29 October 2017
      • 10:00 am

where

Royal Festival Hall
Blue side foyers, Level 4, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free