classical music
contemporary classical

Richard Ayres - The Garden

A dissatisfied man digs down from his garden to hell, then all the way up to heaven in search of meaning. Richard Ayres’ new semi-staged music theatre piece No.50 (The Garden) is an irreverent and darkly comic tale for our age, inspired by the paintings of Hieronymus Bosch and Dante’s Divine Comedy.

Ayres’ distinctive style of extremes proved a sensation in his last semi-staged concert work with the London Sinfonietta In the Alps (2010) and his latest is sure to offer a truly memorable experience, created to mark the ensemble’s 50th Anniversary.

Commissioned by the London Sinfonietta and Asko Schönberg with initial development funded by The Royal Opera.

Ayres has developed a distinctive style in his alternative semi-staged concert works – and this latest is sure to offer a truly unique music-theatre experience, performed by the London Sinfonietta.


London Sinfonietta
Geoffrey Paterson conductor
Joshua Bloom bass
Sound Intermedia


Richard Ayres: No.50 (The Garden) for bass & ensemble (UK premiere)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£15 - £25
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£15, £25


25% (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy