Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Berkeley Ensemble at 10

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Ring in ten years of the innovative chamber group Berkeley Ensemble at this concert featuring a new commission by British composer John Woolrich.

The world premiere of Woolrich’s piece is preceded by Benjamin Britten’s early Divertimenti, by turns comical and razor-sharp, and Howard Ferguson’s Octet, originally conceived as a companion piece to Schubert's great Octet but now celebrated in its own right.

Beethoven’s youthful Septet, itself the inspiration for Schubert’s Octet, completes the programme.

The ensemble, formed in 2008 by members of Southbank Sinfonia, is playing for the first time at our Purcell Room.


Berkeley Ensemble


Britten: 3 Divertimenti for string quartet
Howard Ferguson: Octet for clarinet, bassoon, horn & string quintet
John Woolrich: A Bagatelle (World premiere)
Beethoven: Septet in E flat, Op.20

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Purcell Room


£15 - £20
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£15, £20


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy