The Boyd Duo, string duo

classical music

The Boyd Duo

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

The Australian brothers present passionate works for piano and cello in a programme featuring Beethoven, Mendelssohn and Brahms.

Beethoven’s contemplative Fourth Cello Sonata opens the performance, before Alexander and Nathaniel Boyd move on to Mendelssohn’s stirring Sonata No.2, written by the composer in 1843. Closing the evening is Brahms’ First Sonata, a dark work that gives the two instruments equal weight.

Cellist Nathaniel Boyd is a laureate of numerous prizes for his work with the Navarra String Quartet, is currently a member of the Albion Quartet and has appeared as principal cellist with many of the major UK orchestras.

Pianist and composer Alexander Boyd’s recordings of Goyescas by Granados was described as ‘a riveting performance, full of technical virtuosity… First rate’ by International Piano Magazine. He has composed the music for three films, Galatea, Sogni d'Oro and Art in Heaven.


Nathaniel Boyd cello
Alexander Boyd piano


Beethoven: Cello Sonata No.4 in C, Op.102 No.1
Mendelssohn: Cello Sonata No.2 in D, Op.58
Piazzolla: Le grand tango
Brahms: Cello Sonata No.1 in E minor, Op.38

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Purcell Room


£10 - £20
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £15, £20


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy