literature & poetry

The Forward Prizes for Poetry Ceremony

See the most coveted poetry prizes in the British Isles awarded live on stage by jury chair Bidisha and writer Chris McCabe, and hear readings from the 15 shortlisted poets.

The Forward Prizes rank among the year’s great literary celebrations: this is an unmissable evening for anyone interested in the best new poetry published today.

This year's judges, Bidisha, Chris McCabe, Jen Campbell, Niall Campbell and Mimi Khalvati, read over 200 poetry collections and 180 single poems to find the most exciting poetry published across the UK and Ireland.

The three shortlists feature internationally celebrated names, such as the US Poet Laureate, Tracy K Smith, alongside emerging voices.

Shortlist for best collection
Vahni Capildeo, J O Morgan, Toby Martinez de las Rivas, Danez Smith and Tracy K Smith

Shortlist for best first collection
Kaveh Akbar, Abigail Parry, Phoebe Power, Shivanee Ramlochan and Richard Scott

Shortlist for best single poem
Fiona Benson, Liz Berry, Sumita Chakraborty, Jorie Graham and Will Harris

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Event information
Please note that the start time of the event is different from that originally advertised and it now begins at 7pm.

Age recommendation
For ages 16+.