classical music
classical music

Covent Garden Sinfonia: Quark Dances

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Voyage through the cosmos with music from Bach, Stravinsky and Cheryl Frances-Hoad, performed by Covent Garden Sinfonia and conducted by Ben Palmer.

Frances-Hoad’s five-movement ballet suite Quark Dances, written for the Rambert Dance Company, is heard in the context of the two works that inspired it, Stravinsky’s neoclassical Dumbarton Oaks and Bach’s joyful Third Brandenburg Concerto.

The three works make up Mark Baldwin’s triptych inspired by the origins of the cosmos, The Strange Charm of Mother Nature, premiered at Sadler’s Wells in 2014.

The concert is completed by Heinrich Biber’s modern Battalia, brimming with special effects and polytonal layers, and John Adams’s meditative minimalist classic Shaker Loops.


Covent Garden Sinfonia
Ben Palmer conductor


Stravinsky: Concerto in E flat for chamber orchestra (Dumbarton Oaks)
JS Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No.3 in G
Cheryl Frances-Hoad: Quark Dances
Biber: Battalia à 10 in D
Adams: Shaker Loops

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Purcell Room


£16 - £22
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£16, £22


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy