literature & poetry

TS Eliot Prize Readings

Hear the poets shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize reading from their own work, on the eve of the award ceremony and the announcement of the winner.

Hosted by poet Ian McMillan, the event is the first major highlight of the 2020 literary calendar.

The TS Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland in the calendar year.

This year’s shortlisted poets are: Anthony Anaxagorou (After the Formalities), Fiona Benson (Vertigo & Ghost), Jay Bernard (Surge ), Paul Farley (The Mizzy), Ilya Kaminsky (Deaf Republic), Sharon Olds (Arias), Vidyan Ravinthiran (The Million-petalled Flower of Being Here), Deryn Rees-Jones (Erato), Roger Robinson (Portable Paradise), and Karen Solie (The Caiplie Caves).

It is judged by a panel of established poets who this year comprise John Burnside (Chair), Sarah Howe and Nick Makoha and has been described by former Poet Laureate Sir Andrew Motion as the Prize most poets want to win.

The Prize, the ‘world’s top poetry award’ (The Independent), was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society’s 40th birthday and to honour its founding poet, and is now awarded by the TS Eliot Foundation.

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Age recommendation
For ages 16+

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.

Event information
The line-up may be subject to change at short notice.

Access information
This event is British Sign Language interpreted (BSL).

To join our free Access Scheme and book tickets for these services, call our Ticket Office on 020 3879 9555 or email
Find out more about our Access Scheme