classical music

The Bach Choir: Panufnik - Four Choral Seasons

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Great poetry marks the seasons in a new work for choir and orchestra by Roxanna Panufnik, presented by the Bach Choir and conductor David Hill.

The world premiere opens the choir’s 2019/20 season.

Four Choral Seasons sets poems by Christina Rosetti, Gerard Manley Hopkins and Shakespeare.

The piece commences with Laurence Binyon’s evocative poem beginning 'Now is the time for the burning of the leaves.’

Alongside it, cellist Raphael Wallfisch performs the final work of composer Ernest Bloch’s Jewish Cycle, Schelomo.

A majestic journey for cello and orchestra, it tells the tale of King Solomon.

The choir also performs Delius' Sea Drift, an intensely emotional work full of rich choral harmony, based on the poignant story of two seabirds in Walt Whitman's poem Leaves of Grass.


Philharmonia Orchestra
David Hill conductor
Raphael Wallfisch cello
Duncan Rock baritone
The Bach Choir


Roxanna Panufnik: Four Choral Seasons (World premiere)
Bloch: Schelomo - Hebraic Rhapsody for cello & orchestra
Debussy: La mer
Delius: Sea Drift

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£10 - £55
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £20, £30, £40, £55


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

Roxana Panufnik on synesthesia and sound as colour