classical music
classical music

Prokofiev Soviet Masterpieces

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Prokofiev’s characterful chamber music spanned pre-revolutionary Russia and the Soviet years: hear it performed by Russian and Armenian stars.

Dubbed ‘impressively virtuosic’ by The Classical Reviewer, Yulia Chaplina is the winner of seven international piano competitions.

Cellist Alexander Chaushian holds top prizes from the International Tchaikovsky Competition and ARD Competition. The Telegraph has commented that ‘his playing is of a supreme order’.

Twice the recipient of the prestigious Diapason d’Or award, Yuri Kalnits has been praised by The Strad for his ‘characteristically velvety sound.’


Yulia Chaplina piano
Alexander Chaushian cello
Yuri Kalnits violin


Prokofiev: Andantino from Tales of an Old Grandmother, Op.31 arr. Milstein for violin & piano; Selection from Visions fugitives, Op.22; Cello Sonata in C, Op.119
Prokofiev: Piano Sonata No.9 in C, Op.103
-: Selected transcriptions for violin & piano:
Prokofiev: Minuet from 4 Pieces, Op.32; Legend from 10 Pieces, Op.12; Grand Valse from Cinderella arr. Fichtenholz for violin & piano; March from The Love for Three Oranges Suite arr. Heifetz for violin & piano

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Purcell Room


£15 - £25
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£15, £20, £25


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy