classical music

Corinthian Orchestra: Fantastique!

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Corinthian Orchestra returns with a popular programme of Tchaikovsky and Berlioz.

Tchaikovsky's joyful Capriccio Italien – a fantasy for orchestra written when the composer spent three months in Rome in 1880 – sets the performance off in high spirits.

Violinist Nicola Benedetti joins the Corinthian Orchestra to perform Tchaikovsky’s Violin Concerto, in her first performance since her recent Grammy win.

Bewitching images abound in Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique – a wild musical ride that takes us from bucolic landscapes to the furious dances of a witches’ sabbath.

Composed in 1830, the spine-tingling piece – the 27-year-old composer’s first symphony – was inspired by his experience of opium and obsession with the actress Harriet Smithson; the fourth movement, he claimed, completed over the course of a single night.


Corinthian Orchestra
Michael Seal conductor
Nicola Benedetti violin *


Tchaikovsky: Capriccio Italien; Violin Concerto *
Berlioz: Symphonie fantastique

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£15 - £22
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£15, £20, £22


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Event information
* Please note change of artist and concerto from originally advertised.