Workshops & Activities

Gamelan School and Group Workshops - Autumn 2018

Part of Gamelan

Get a group together to have a go at playing the Javanese gamelan (percussion orchestra from Indonesia).

These introductory gamelan workshops are available to groups of up to 20 participants. Each two-hour session explores traditional Javanese repertoire but can be tailored to your specific needs to include composition and performing with an expert tutor.

A range of special needs can also be accommodated.

These sessions are great for primary and secondary schools (particularly KS3 & KS4), colleges and universities, family get-togethers and birthday celebrations.

No previous musical experience is necessary, just a willingness to take off your shoes and have fun. Playing gamelan can inspire self-confidence, improve coordination, encourage team-building, and enhance listening skills.

In 1987, Southbank Centre was privileged to receive a beautiful Javanese percussion orchestra called gamelan. This was a remarkable gift from the Government of the Republic of Indonesia to the people of the UK as a gesture of friendship.

As is the case with many important gamelan ensembles, ours was named 'Kyai Lebdha Jiwa' or 'The Venerable Spirit of Perfection'.

Dates & times

18 Sep 2018 - 13 Dec 2018
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
><
  • September 2018

    • Wed 26 September 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 27 September 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
  • October 2018

    • Tue 2 October 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 3 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 4 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 9 October 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 10 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 11 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 17 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 18 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 30 October 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 31 October 2018
      • 10:30 am
  • November 2018

    • Thu 1 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 6 November 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 7 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 8 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 13 November 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 14 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 15 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 20 November 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 21 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 22 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 27 November 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 28 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 29 November 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
  • December 2018

    • Tue 4 December 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 5 December 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 6 December 2018
      • 10:30 am
      • 2:00 pm
    • Tue 11 December 2018
      • 2:00 pm
    • Wed 12 December 2018
      • 10:30 am
    • Thu 13 December 2018
      • 2:00 pm

where

Royal Festival Hall
Gamelan Room, Level 1

need to know

Age recommendation
For ages 6+.

Dates & times
Autumn 2018: Tue 18 Sep – Thu 13 Dec 2018
Available sessions: Tuesdays (2pm), Wednesdays (10.30am) and Thursdays (10.30am & 2pm)

Workshops can be arranged on other dates and times subject to tutor availability.

For all queries regarding gamelan at Southbank Centre, please contact gamelan@southbankcentre.co.uk or phone 020 7921 0767.

Ticketing
£195 per group + £3 transaction fee.

Please note: these workshops are not available to book online. To book, call our group ticket line on 020 7960 4225 (Monday – Friday, 9.30am – 5.30pm).

Access
For visitors with prams, buggies and wheelchairs, or requiring step-free access to Gamelan Room, please go to the Welcome Desk, Level 2, Royal Festival Hall, where our Visitor Experience Team are happy to assist you.