Classical music
Chamber & Recital

Philharmonia Chamber Players: Strauss - Metamorphosen

Part of Classical Season 2018/19

Enjoy a Boccherini Cello quintet and the string septet arrangement of Strauss’ Metamorphosen, an elegy to the German culture destroyed by war.

Written in the closing months of World War Two, the aching melodies of Metamorphosen mourn a Europe broken by conflict. Tonight, hear an intimate setting of this masterpiece, as the Philharmonia Chamber Players perform Strauss’ original arrangement for string septet.

Strauss’ music pays homage to the greats of German musical culture, as fragments inspired by Mozart, Bach and Beethoven, including the Funeral March from the Eroica Symphony, weave and expand across the ensemble.

In contrast, hear a rare performance of a piece written almost 200 years earlier by Italian composer Boccherini. He built on the legacy of Haydn but expanded the musical role of the cello to striking effect – his A minor quintet uses two, incorporating powerful dark melodies and guitar-inspired percussive sonorities.

This concert is part of the Philharmonia Chamber Players series.


Sarah Oates violin
Rebecca Chan violin
Richard Waters viola
Gijs Kramers viola
Karen Stephenson cello
Richard Birchall cello
Tim Gibbs double bass


Luigi Boccherini: String Quintet in A minor, Op.25 No.6
R Strauss: Metamorphosen arr. Rudolf Leopold for string septet

Dates & times

1 Nov 2018
Approximate run time: 50 mins
Run times may vary, find out more
    • Thu 1 November 2018
      • 6:00 pm


Royal Festival Hall



need to know

Event information
Hear the musical drama magnified across the full Orchestra, as Edward Gardner conducts Strauss’ autobiographical Ein Heldenleben and Brahms’ majestic First Piano Concerto in the evening programme at 7.30pm.
Find out more