classical music
contemporary classical

Kensington Symphony Orchestra

Brahms’ Piano Concerto No.2 – a magnificent piece of musical architecture – is paired with the spiritual journey of MacMillan’s Symphony No.4.

Written on a grand scale, the symphonic Second Piano Concerto’s mellow and serene first movement is followed by an exhilarating tussle between piano and orchestra in the second.

A solo cello shares the limelight in the lyrical slow movement, while the entertaining finale strews instantly memorable themes in profusion.

One of the leading composers of his generation, Scottish-born James MacMillan always aims at direct emotional and dramatic communication.

Begun in 2014, his Fourth Symphony was written in homage to Robert Carver, the most important Scottish composer of the High Renaissance.

In one continually evolving movement, the work explores the 'rituals of movement, exhortation, petition and joy', with plaintive melodies, atmospheric string clusters and resplendent chorales.

In over 60 years of music-making, Kensington Symphony Orchestra has built an enviable reputation as one of the UK’s most accomplished and adventurous non-professional orchestras.

Established classics, neglected masterpieces and works by today’s leading composers are hallmarks of KSO’s repertoire, performed with a skill and panache that has garnered praise from all quarters.


Kensington Symphony Orchestra
Russell Keable conductor
Samson Tsoy piano


Brahms: Piano Concerto No.2
James MacMillan: Symphony No.4

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£15 - £36
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£15, £22, £28, £36


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.