classical music
classical music

The Impresarios - Masterpieces by Handel & Telemann

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Admire chamber works by Handel and Telemann, arguably the two greatest chamber composers of the high Baroque, performed by the Feinstein Ensemble.

Neither composer was dependent on the patronage system of the church or the courts.

Instead they both used their business acumen to take complete control of their careers, organising the publication and performances of their own works.

The Feinstein Ensemble presents chamber masterpieces that showcase the composers’ distinct voices and demonstrate the enormous energy that they have in common.


The Feinstein Ensemble
Martin Feinstein flute, recorder
Catherine Manson violin
Christopher Suckling cello, viola da gamba
Robin Bigwood harpsichord


Handel: Trio Sonata in B minor for flute, violin & continuo, Op.2 No.1
Telemann: Fantaisie No.6 in D minor for solo flute
JS Bach: Prelude and Fugue in C minor, BWV.847
Telemann: Quartet in A for flute, violin, viola da gamba & continuo (Paris Quartet No.3)
Telemann: Trio Sonata in G minor for recorder, violin & continuo
Handel: Sonata in F for violin & continuo, Op.1 No.12
Telemann: Sonata in C for recorder & continuo
Handel: Trio Sonata in F for recorder, violin & continuo, HWV.405

Dates & times

5 Mar 2020
Approximate run time: 95 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Purcell Room


£21 - £23
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£21, £23


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy