classical music
contemporary classical

Sound Across a Century / 2

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

The London Sinfonietta recalls a century in music in the second concert in the ensemble’s 2020 series.

This concert covers the years 1905 to 1910 and 2005 to 2010.

Presenter Jonathan Cross joins conductor David Atherton to tell another story of music across the past 100 years through music and video of the era, as composers evolved a new musical language following the end of musical romanticism.

Affected by the hugely turbulent century, artists of all kinds created a `modernist' movement whose effects are still being embraced – or rejected – today.


London Sinfonietta
David Atherton conductor
Jonathan Cross presenter


Programme includes: -
Schoenberg: 5 Pieces, Op.16 arr. Greissle for chamber ensemble
Boulez: Dérive I for 6 instruments
Lutyens: 6 Tempi for 10 instruments
Ligeti: Melodien
Sir Harrison Birtwistle: Cantus Iambeus

Dates & times

24 Mar 2020
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£15 - £20
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£15, £20


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy