literature & poetry

TS Eliot Prize Readings

Hear the poets shortlisted for the TS Eliot Prize reading from their own work, on the eve of the award ceremony and the announcement of the winner.

Hosted by poet Ian McMillan, this is the first major highlight of the 2019 literary calendar.

The TS Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland in the calendar year.

It is judged by a panel of established poets who this year comprise Sinéad Morrissey (Chair), Daljit Nagra and Clare Pollard and has been described by former Poet Laureate Sir Andrew Motion as the Prize most poets want to win.

All ten poets chosen by the judges have been confirmed to read at the TS Eliot Prize Readings: Ailbhe Darcy, Terrance Hayes, Zaffar Kunial, Nick Laird, Fiona Moore, Sean O’Brien, Phoebe Power, Richard Scott, Tracy K Smith and Hannah Sullivan. For the first time, the shortlist includes five debut collections.

The Prize was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society’s 40th birthday and to honour its founding poet, and is now awarded by the T S Eliot Foundation. It is the world’s top poetry award. (The Independent).

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£12 - £15
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£12, £15


25% off limited availability
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Age recommendation
For ages 16+