classical music

Verdi Requiem & Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No.1

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

Travel back to the 1870s as the English Arts Chorale and Orchestra present two works premiered within a year.

Sung entirely from memory, The English Arts Chorale’s performance of Verdi’s mighty Requiem has a striking immediacy.

The EAC is delighted to welcome back British soprano Linda Richardson; flying in from Melbourne to complete the ladies’ voices ensemble is English mezzo-soprano Emily Bauer-Jones.

Performing Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto, the young Sicilian pianist Giuseppe Guarrera was a prize-winner at the Montréal International Competition and won five other awards including the People’s Choice.

He has appeared as a soloist with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, the Royal Philharmonic, Orchestre Symphonique de Montréal, and the Orchestra del Teatro la Fenice.

The concert opens with Sir Hubert Parry’s coronation anthem I Was Glad.


English Arts Orchestra
Leslie Olive conductor
Giuseppe Guarrera piano
Linda Richardson soprano
Emily Bauer-Jones mezzo-soprano
Andrew Henley tenor
Emyr Wyn Jones bass-baritone
English Arts Chorale


Parry: I was glad
Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1
Verdi: Requiem (performed from memory)

Dates & times

7 Jul 2020
Approximate run time: 160 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£12 - £42
Booking fee: £3.00 (Members £0.00)
£12, £26, £34, £42


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy