classical music

Mahler & Zarebski

Part of Classical Season 2019/20

In a free recital of late Romantic chamber works, hear the inventive masterpiece of Polish composer Zarebski: his G minor Piano Quintet.

Zarebski dedicated the quintet to Liszt, his teacher, who considered it a perfect example of its kind.

The work is preceded by Mahler’s sombre Quartet in A minor – an unfinished work that the composer wrote as a student in Vienna.

This event is programmed by Tamás Sándor, Principal Second Violin of the Philharmonia Orchestra, ahead of the Orchestra’s evening concert.


Players from the Philharmonia Orchestra


Mahler: Quartet (movement) in A minor for piano & strings
Juliusz Zarebski: Piano Quintet in G minor, Op.34

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall



need to know

Related events
Following this event, see the whole Orchestra in Temirkanov Conducts Sibelius & Brahms at 7.30pm in Royal Festival Hall.
Find out more