Art
Literature
Exhibition

The Typographic Dante

Journey from Hell, through Purgatory, to Paradise with artist Barrie Tullett in an exhibition of works responding to Dante’s Divine Comedy.

Tullett has created 100 typographic illustrations, each of which responds to a Canto of Dante’s unfolding narrative, giving an opportunity to experience the whole journey of the Divine Comedy in one visual experience. Each work was made using a different ‘obsolete’ technology: wood and metal type, a typewriter and letraset.

The Divine Comedy is a poem by Dante Alighieri. Written between 1308 and 1320, it describes Dante’s journey, led by Virgil, through Hell, Purgatory and Paradise, and, at a deeper level, represents the soul’s journey towards God.

Barrie Tullett is Programme Leader for Graphic Design at the University of Lincoln and is the author of Typewriter Art: A Modern Anthology (Laurence King Publishing, 2014).

Dates & times

30 Apr 2019 - 30 Jun 2019
><
  • April 2019

    • Tue 30 April 2019
      • from 11:00 am
  • May 2019

    • Wed 1 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 2 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 3 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 4 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 5 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 7 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 8 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 9 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 10 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 11 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 12 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 14 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 15 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 16 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 17 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 18 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 19 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 21 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 22 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 23 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 24 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 25 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 26 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 28 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 29 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 30 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 31 May 2019
      • from 11:00 am
  • June 2019

    • Sat 1 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 2 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 4 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 5 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 6 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 7 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 8 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 9 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 11 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 12 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 13 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 14 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 15 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 16 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 18 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 19 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 20 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 21 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 22 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 23 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Tue 25 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Wed 26 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Thu 27 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Fri 28 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sat 29 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am
    • Sun 30 June 2019
      • from 11:00 am

where

National Poetry Library,

Level 5, Blue side, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free