classical music

National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain Spring Concert Tour

Part of Classical Season 2020/21

Blooming with youthful energy, the orchestra and conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto present works including William Walton’s explosive First Symphony.

Often considered to be the composer’s finest work, the symphony is characterised by intense anguish and melancholy in its first three movements, a mood that is swept away by an exultant finale.

NYO's characteristic teenage brilliance is brought to life through a joyful collaboration with conductor Carlos Miguel Prieto.

The conductor is known for his ability to bring young people together in life-affirming, boundary-pushing performances, reimagining even the best-known orchestral works with a fresh, teenage spirit.


National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain
Carlos Miguel Prieto conductor
Jess Gillam saxophone


Gabriela Ortiz: Téenek- Invenciones de Territorio
John Harle: Briggflatts for soprano saxophone & orchestra
Walton: Symphony No.1

Dates & times

17 Apr 2021
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Royal Festival Hall


£8 - £22
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£8, £12.50, £16, £18, £22


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.