classical music

Seasons of Love

Part of Classical Season 2020/21

Aurora Orchestra journeys through the varying shades of love, bringing together diverse musical genres to explore this most human of emotions in this Orchestral Theatre production.

Copland’s riot of colour in Appalachian Spring sits alongside Piazzolla’s expressive The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires.

A set of pieces with tango dancers ventures from the crystallised grief of Purcell’s Dido’s Lament to the melancholic nostalgia of tangos by Piazzolla and Gardel.

And the Symphonic Dances from Bernstein’s West Side Story unfold with groove-swaying rhythms and irresistible energy as an ode to love in the city.


Aurora Orchestra
Nicholas Collon conductor
Arabella Steinbacher violin
Martynas Levickis accordion


Copland: Appalachian Spring Suite (vers. orig. for 13 instruments)
Piazzolla: Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas (The 4 Seasons of Buenos Aires)
Piazzolla: Libertango
Gardel: Por una cabeza
Purcell: When I am laid in earth (Dido's Lament) from Dido and Aeneas
Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story arr. Iain Farrington (performed from memory)

Dates & times

20 Mar 2021
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£10 - £40
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£10, £25, £35, £40


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.