literature & poetry

The Forward Prizes for Poetry Ceremony

Part of Poetry International

The best poetry being published in the British Isles today is recognised at this ceremony, hosted by jury chair Shahidha Bari and poet Andrew McMillan.

Featuring readings from the 15 shortlisted poets, the Forward Prizes rank among the year’s great literary celebrations.

This year's judges, Shahidha Bari, Jamie Andrews, Tara Bergin, Andrew McMillan and Carol Rumens, read over 200 poetry collections and 180 single poems to find the most exciting poetry published across the UK and Ireland.

The prize shortlists are as follows:

The Forward Prize for Best Collection
City of Departures by Helen Tookey (Carcanet)
Deaf Republic by Ilya Kaminsky (Faber & Faber)
The Million-Petalled Flower of Being Here by Vidyan Ravinthiran (Bloodaxe Books)
Noctuary by Niall Campbell (Bloodaxe Books)
Vertigo & Ghost by Fiona Benson (Cape)

Felix Dennis Prize for Best First Collection
If All the World and Love Were Young by Stephen Sexton (Penguin Books)
The Perseverance by Raymond Antrobus (Penned in the Margins)
Significant Other by Isabel Galleymore (Carcanet)
Surge by Jay Bernard (Chatto & Windus)
Truth Street by David Cain (Smokestack Books)

The Forward Prize for Best Single Poem
Bridge by Jonathan Edwards (The Frogmore Papers)
Comic Timing by Holly Pester (Granta Magazine)
Forty Names by Parwana Fayyaz (PN Review)
Highbury Park by Liz Berry (Wild Court)
The Window by Mary Jean Chan (The National Poetry Competition by the Poetry Society)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Queen Elizabeth Hall


Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Age recommendation
For ages 16+

Access information
This event is British Sign Language interpreted (BSL).

To join our free Access Scheme and book tickets for these services, call our Ticket Office on 020 3879 9555 or email
Find out more about our Access Scheme