classical music
contemporary classical

Kensington Symphony Orchestra

Part of Classical Season 2020/21

The orchestra presents Gershwin’s Cuban holiday fiesta, Lindberg’s modern masterpiece and Prokofiev’s ballet bringing Shakespeare to musical life.

Gershwin’s Cuban Overture was the result of a 1952 holiday the composer took in Havana, and features rumba rhythms and bluesy melodies.

Of Magnus Lindberg’s Clarinet Concerto, The Guardian wrote, ‘It is that rare thing, a piece written by one of the leading European composers of our time that manages to be unfailingly approachable and rewarding without making any compromises in its musical language or technique.’

Prokofiev’s ballet music for Romeo and Juliet interprets Shakespeare’s tragedy of star-crossed lovers with equal parts dark drama and dreamy romance.

In over 60 years of music-making, Kensington Symphony Orchestra has built a reputation as one of the UK’s most accomplished and adventurous non-professional orchestras.

Established classics, neglected masterpieces and works by today’s leading composers are hallmarks of KSO’s repertoire.


Kensington Symphony Orchestra
Russell Keable conductor
clarinet to be announced


Gershwin: Cuban Overture
Magnus Lindberg: Clarinet Concerto
Prokofiev: Excerpts from Romeo and Juliet

Dates & times

18 Jan 2021
Approximate run time: 115 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£15 - £36
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£15, £22, £28, £36


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.