classical music
contemporary classical

Unclassified Live: Bryce Dessner, Julia Holter & Aïsha Devi

Part of Classical Season 2020/21

The BBC Concert Orchestra flags new composers to add to your favourites in a live concert version of Elizabeth Alker’s cult Radio 3 programme.

With conductor André de Ridder, the orchestra brings the freshest contemporary music out of the studio and into the concert hall.

Bryce Dessner’s Voy a Dormir is a setting of four poems by the Argentinian poet Alfonsina Storni for orchestra and mezzo-soprano.

Storni wrote her trailblazing modernist poetry, which was ahead of its time in its treatment of relationships and emotions, between 1912 and 1938.

Dessner traces the arc of four of her later poems, including the poem she wrote before her early death in 1938, ‘I am going to sleep.’

It was written for the GRAMMY-winning American mezzo-soprano Kelley O’Connor, who performs it live.

The evening features new works by Julia Holter, known for avant-garde indie rock and ambient electronica, and Aïsha Devi, whose distinctive electronic music is recognised for its alien architecture.


BBC Concert Orchestra
André de Ridder conductor
Kelley O'Connor singer
Julia Holter singer
Aïsha Devi singer


Programme includes: -
Bryce Dessner: Voy a dormir for mezzo-soprano & orchestra (UK premiere)
Julia Holter: Works to be announced
Aïsha Devi: Works to be announced

Dates & times

28 Apr 2021
Approximate run time: 120 mins
Run times may vary, find out more


Queen Elizabeth Hall


£12 - £22
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£12, £22


25% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

need to know

Southbank Centre takes a strong view on secondary ticketing. We require the lead booker to attend (photo ID may be requested). Tickets can only be resold by Southbank Centre or one of its authorised agents.