Indian Sun: Highlights of the Ravi Shankar Archives

Part of Shankar 100

This event has been cancelled due to unforeseen circumstances.

Explore the life and legacy of a global musical icon through the lens of family archives.

Ravi Shankar’s career spanned decades, continents, art forms and musical genres. Perhaps best known to UK audiences as the man who taught sitar to the Beatles’ George Harrison, he was a sitar master, composer, innovator and peacemaker, and his influence still reverberates today.

For this display, Shankar’s biographer Oliver Craske selects rare archive pieces to highlight key moments from an extraordinary life – from Shankar’s childhood touring Europe with his brother’s dance troupe to his United Nations collaboration with Yehudi Menuhin, and his final work, the opera Sukanya, composed in honour of his wife.

The display also features archive film footage and a growing installation of paper flowers created as part of the Shankar 100 centenary celebrations.

Dates & times

- 21 Jun 2020
><
  • April 2020

    • Thu 2 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Fri 3 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sat 4 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 5 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Mon 6 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Wed 8 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Thu 9 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Fri 10 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sat 11 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sun 12 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
        cancelled
    • Mon 13 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 14 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 15 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 16 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 17 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 18 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 19 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 20 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 21 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 22 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 23 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 24 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 25 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 26 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 27 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 28 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 30 April 2020
      • from 10:00 am
  • May 2020

    • Fri 1 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 2 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 3 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 4 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 5 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 6 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 7 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 8 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 9 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 10 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 11 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 12 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 13 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 14 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 15 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 16 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 17 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 18 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 19 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 20 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 21 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 22 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 23 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 24 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 25 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 26 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 27 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 28 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 29 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 30 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 31 May 2020
      • from 10:00 am
  • June 2020

    • Mon 1 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 2 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 3 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 4 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 5 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 6 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 7 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 8 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 9 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 10 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 11 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 12 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 13 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 14 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Mon 15 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Tue 16 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Wed 17 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Thu 18 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Fri 19 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sat 20 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am
    • Sun 21 June 2020
      • from 10:00 am

where

Royal Festival Hall
Archive Studio, Level 2

Pricing

Free

need to know

Event information
Make a marigold to add to the installation at free drop-in workshops on Saturday 4 and Tuesday 7 April.

The opening hours of the Archive Studio are 10am – 11pm daily.