art & exhibitions
literature & poetry

The Concrete World of Edwin Morgan

This event has been cancelled as we are currently closed due to the coronavirus crisis.

Mark the centenary of the Scottish poet at an exhibition on his visual poetry and his life as a gay writer.

Showcasing many rare works from the National Poetry Library collection, the exhibition features displays of Edwin Morgan works as large-scale graphics and sound, alongside publications and ephemera.

As part of the exhibition, we have commissioned new work from four LGBTQ+ poets, whose poems are available to view in the exhibition space.

You can also interact with a Morgan poem that has been reimagined as a digital game.

Born in 1920, Morgan was unique in the international concrete poetry movement for being prolific in many forms of poetry and for bringing warmth and humour to his visual work.

Come along to discover more about his unique vision as a poet and to see how a new generation of poets have reimagined his contribution to 20th- and 21st-century poetry.

Dates & times

-
    • Wed 5 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Thu 6 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Fri 7 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sat 8 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sun 9 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Tue 11 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Wed 12 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Thu 13 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Fri 14 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sat 15 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sun 16 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Tue 18 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Wed 19 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Thu 20 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Fri 21 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sat 22 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled
    • Sun 23 August 2020
      • 11:00 am
        cancelled

where

National Poetry Library,

Level 5, Blue side, Royal Festival Hall

Pricing

Free