Classical music

Inspirations – Beethoven, Strauss & Davies: Philharmonia Orchestra

Part of Classical Season

The Philharmonia Orchestra performs a programme of extraordinary musical invention, with works by Beethoven, Strauss and Tansy Davies.

Beethoven's heroic 'Emperor' Concerto flows from the imperial majesty of its three opening orchestral chords and interspersed bubbling piano lines; while Strauss' Nietzsche-inspired Also sprach Zarathustra climbs ever-upward from its spell-binding beginning. Alongside, the rhythmically driving, jumping, iridescent sound-world of Tansy Davies.

*Tansy Davies' Forest – A Concerto for 4 Horns has been jointly commissioned by Esa-Pekka Salonen for the Philharmonia Orchestra's 70th Anniversary; New York Philharmonic: Alan Gilbert, Music Director; and International Festival of Contemporary Music Warsaw Autumn's 60th Anniversary.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor
Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano
Philharmonia Horn Section


Beethoven: Piano Concerto No.5 (Emperor)
Tansy Davies: Forest - A Concerto for 4 horns & orchestra (London premiere)
R Strauss: Also sprach Zarathustra

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall
Members and Supporters get priority. Join now

before & after

View of the Riverside Terrace Cafe at the Southbank Centre
Serves delicious, fresh food in an informal setting with great views of the Thames
Close up of a coffee in Canteen restaurant at the Southbank Centre
Canteen's committed to honest food that's nationally sourced, skilfully made and fairly priced