Classical music

London Philharmonic Orchestra: Unfinished Journey

Part of Classical Season

Experience the power and passion of Bruckner's unfinished Ninth Symphony, conducted by Jukka-Pekka Saraste.

Not every spiritual journey ends in redemption, but some feel that Bruckner's huge, unfinished Ninth Symphony is all the more powerful for ending in a cry of unanswered longing.

From its towering opening to soul-shaking finish, it is one of music's most personal and passionate confessions of faith and few conductors are better equipped than Jukka-Pekka Saraste to navigate both its vast heavenly spaces and its bottomless chasms of doubt. The glowing autumn colours of Magnus Lindberg's Cello Concerto – performed by the cellist for whom it was written – represent a beacon of hope before Bruckner's long night of the soul.


London Philharmonic Orchestra
Jukka-Pekka Saraste conductor
Anssi Karttunen cello


Magnus Lindberg: Cello Concerto No.2 (UK premiere)
Bruckner: Symphony No.9 (vers. 1951, ed. Novak)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall
Members and Supporters get priority. Join now

before & after

EAT Cafe at the Southbank
EAT. creates, makes and serves fresh food to go including soups, hot pots, salads and sandwiches
Close up of a coffee in Canteen restaurant at the Southbank Centre
Canteen's committed to honest food that's nationally sourced, skilfully made and fairly priced