Classical music

Jakub Hrusa conducts Brahms

Part of Classical Season

The Philharmonia Orchestra performs Brahms' songful Second Piano Concerto and Fourth Symphony, conducted by Czech star Jakub Hrusa.

Composed from a series of sighs, Brahms' final symphony is at once his darkest and deepest. However, insecure to the end, Brahms humorously insisted his final symphony was no more than 'a few entr'actes and polkas which I happened to have lying about'.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Jakub Hrusa conductor
Rudolf Buchbinder piano


Brahms: Piano Concerto No.2
Brahms: Symphony No.4

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

before & after

Cafe Vergnano at the Southbank Centre
1882 at Southbank Centre is a much lauded, authentic Italian restaurant, bar and coffee shop
Exterior view of Wagamama, Southbank Centre
Inspired by canteen-style Japanese noodle bars, Wagamama delivers lively pan-Asian food