Classical music

Salonen/Aimard: Inspirations

Part of International Organ Series

Star pianists Tamara Stefanovich and Pierre-Laurent Aimard perform Bartók's Concerto for 2 pianos, percussion and orchestra.

Cosmic and combustive, this piece hurtles through infectious rhythms and leaping melodies via the sparse, eerie, mystical sonorities of what Bartók termed his 'night music'.

Further into darkness, Mahler's Sixth Tragic Symphony builds to the famous hammer strokes or inexorable blows of fate which Mahler felt like the 'stroke of an axe'.


Philharmonia Orchestra
Esa-Pekka Salonen conductor
Pierre-Laurent Aimard piano
Tamara Stefanovich piano


Bartók: Concerto for 2 pianos, percussion & orchestra
Mahler: Symphony No.6

Dates & times

7 May 2017
Approximate run time: 150 mins


Royal Festival Hall


£11 - £55
Booking fee: £1.75 (Members £0.00)
£11, £18, £27, £35, £42, £55


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy

before & after

Food from Las Iguanas at the Southbank Centre
Las Iguanas brings you Latin cool, mouth-watering ingredients and South American culture
People around the Central Bar at the Southbank Centre
Enjoy a drink at one of London’s longest bars: the iconic Central Bar