literature & poetry
spoken word & live literature

TS Eliot Prize Readings

Hear readings from the poets shortlisted for the 2016 prize at this literary calendar highlight event. The TS Eliot Prize is awarded annually to the author of the best new poetry collection published in the UK or Ireland.

It is judged by a panel of established poets and has been described by Sir Andrew Motion as 'the Prize most poets want to win'.

The evening is introduced by Ian McMillan, poet and presenter of BBC’s Radio 3’s The Verb. He is joined by Ruth Padel, chair of the TS Eliot Prize judging panel, and poets Julia Copus and Allan Gillis.

This year's shortlist is:
Void Studies – Rachael Boast (Picador)
Vahni Capildeo – Measures of Expatriation (Carcanet)
Ian Duhig – The Blind Road-Maker (Picador)
JO Morgan – Interference Pattern (Cape Poetry)
Bernard O’Donoghue – The Seasons of Cullen Church (Faber)
Alice Oswald – Falling Awake (Cape Poetry)
Jacob Polley – Jackself (Picador)
Denise Riley – Say Something Back (Picador)
Ruby Robinson – Every Little Sound (Liverpool University Press)
Katharine Towers –The Remedies (Picador)

All poets on the shortlist have accepted the invitation to read at this performance. Please note that this may be subject to change at short notice.

Previous winners of the prize include Paul Muldoon, Don Paterson, Ted Hughes, Michael Longley, Anne Carson, Alice Oswald, George Szirtes, Carol Ann Duffy, Seamus Heaney, Derek Walcott, John Burnside, Sharon Olds, Sinéad Morrissey and David Harsent.

The prize was inaugurated in 1993 to celebrate the Poetry Book Society’s 40th birthday, and to honour its founding poet.

’The world’s top poetry award’(Louisa Jury, The Independent)

Dates & times

This event has passed.


Royal Festival Hall


£12 - £15
Booking fee: £3.50 (Members £0.00)
£12, £15


50% off (limited availability)
Find out more about our Concessions policy