Join the Beyond Beethoven 9 Voicelab Choir

To mark 250 years since Beethoven’s birth in 2020, Voicelab is looking for confident singers to be part of two very special performances of Beyond Beethoven 9 in Royal Festival Hall.

Our performance of this iconic symphony will be conducted by the great Marin Alsop leading the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, alongside a choir performing a new re-written English version of Schiller's Ode To Joy that will embody Beethoven’s message of unity, fraternity and hope. The choir will be led by experienced choral director, vocal coach and singer Suzi Zumpe.

Voicelab are seeking confident singers over the age of 18 with choral experience of singing in parts to join this choir. Reading music is not a requirement but you must have a willingness to work hard, be committed to the project and have bags of enthusiasm. We are particularly looking for singers who are confident singing very high for sustained periods, as well as other voice parts.

Key dates

Auditions
Thursday 7 November, 6.30pm – 9.30pm 
Thursday 14 November, 6.30pm – 9.30pm
Saturday 16 November, 11am – 3pm

Rehearsals
Every Thursday evening from 16 January  9 April at 6.30pm – 9.30pm (no rehearsal on Thursday 20 February)
Saturday 21 March, 10.30am – 1.15pm
Monday 13 April, 11am – 9.30pm with breaks
Tuesday 14 April, 6pm – 9pm 
Wednesday 15 April, 2pm – 9pm with breaks

Performances
Thursday 16 April, 5pm – 9pm
Saturday 18 April, 5pm – 9pm

how to apply

If you would like to take part in this once-in-a-lifetime project, please check that you are available for the audition, rehearsal and performance dates above and then fill in the form telling us why you would like to be part of the choir.

During the auditions we will hear all of you sing individually for a short time. Please let us know on the form if you need any additional support to take part in the auditions or project. 

Applications close Monday 28 October.

You will hear back from Southbank Centre no later than Friday 1 November inviting you to an audition. 

If you have any questions please contact beyond.beethoven@southbankcentre.co.uk.