Tchaikovsky & Sibelius

1 –⁠ 8 Apr 2021, 7.30pm
Online events
Classical music
Book now
Book now
Portrait of pianist Pavel Kolesnikov

The Philharmonia Orchestra brings us Tchaikovsky's turbulent Piano Concerto No.1 and Sibelius' theatrical King Christian II Suite in a broadcast performance.

Pavel Kolesnikov, a pianist 'in full command of a magnificent range of powers' (The Arts Desk), has risen from BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist to major soloist.

He joins the Philharmonia Orchestra and conductor Rory Macdonald in Tchaikovsky's Piano Concerto No.1, a rollercoaster of emotions from its first implacable chords to its fiery finale.

Sibelius' King Christian II Suite was written in 1904 for a play telling of the fall of a 16th-century ruler.

Sibelius gives some movements an ancient flavour, with pairs of woodwinds playing rustic tunes.

Other movements paint Romantic pictures of dusk and night-time with lush string melodies.

The rousing final movement would have filled a contemporary Finnish audience with patriotic fervour, in no doubt as to the play's nationalist, anti-Russian subtext.

Sibelius' short Dance Intermezzo, with its tambourines and castanets, transports us to the sunny Mediterranean.

  • Philharmonia Orchestra
  • Rory Macdonald conductor
  • Pavel Kolesnikov piano
  • Sibelius: Dance intermezzo, Op.45 No.2
  • Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No.1
  • Sibelius: King Christian II, suite from the incidental music, Op.27

Dates & times

First broadcast: available from 7.30pm on Thu 1 Apr and available to buy until Thu 1 Jul.

Approximate run time: 1 hour 15 mins.
Run times may vary by up to 20 minutes as they can be affected by last-minute programme changes, intervals and encores.


Standard £12

Get presale tickets

Members get the first chance to book our entire programme of events, including go-down-in-history gigs, concerts with world-class orchestras, and talks from cultural icons and political giants.




Online events

We are streaming events with a number of different platforms.

Check the Where to watch section above to find out which platform you can use to view this specific event.

Watch online

Tickets are available via the Philharmonia Orchestra. You will get an email with a unique link to watch the stream. You can watch as many times as you want after that for 30 days.

Please ensure that you have access to a stable WiFi network in order to watch the event.

For full details on how to book and watch, see frequently asked questions